Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

How to mark notes as filed and delete after moving to a folder in Notes?

In Notes APP, when I drag a note from the active, middle column into a folder, is there a way to mark that note as "Filed" and then delete it from that second column? This is on my MacBook Air, 2020, MI OS 15.7

Thanks!

5 replies

The middle pane cannot be hidden as it is the one containing the list of notes from a specific folder and, without it, you could not select other notes.


The first pane can be hidden, though. That can be convenient if you often work within the same folder. Let's say that you have a "Drafts" folder where you add and modify notes until they are in their finalized form. You could select the Drafts folder in the first pane, hide the first pane (click View > Hide Folders in the menu bar) and work with your notes. Once a note is finalized, right-click it and choose Move To and select a folder where you want to store the finalized note. The note would then "disappear" from the Drafts note list and the list would only show the notes that still need to be worked on.

I think I understand your situation now. The folder "All Linda@iCloud" (in the left pane) will display all your notes, regardless of which folder you moved them in. If you select in the left pane the folder in which you moved a note, you will see it in the middle pane.


So if you have the "All Linda@iCloud" folder selected in the left pane, moving a note in a specific folder will not remove it from this all encompassing folder as it is the main library for your notes. Yet, your note was moved (or "tagged") to the right folder.


I rarely use the "All iCoud" folder. (I look at it as the note library just like the photo library in the Photos app that displays all the photos.) Just like you, I prefer moving notes to specific folders (the analogy is "album" in the Photos app) and I select a specific folder when looking at my notes.


I also use te search function regularly, especially when I'm looking for a note in a specific folder (i.e. not the All iCloud folder) that contains already a lot of notes.

I'm not sure to understand. In the Notes app, if you display 3 panes ("columns"), the 1st pane is the folder list, the 2nd pane is the list of notes in the folder selected in the 1st pane, and the 3rd pane show the content of the note selected in the 2nd pane.


When you move a note from the 2nd pane to another folder in the 1st pane, it should disappear from the 2nd pane.


Am I misunderstanding something?


Hi 6x6, Maybe I don't have my settings correct. In the screenshot, below, you can see my set up. On the right is where I write the note. It now appears in the center column by the PINS at the top and under that it's sorted by date I wrote the note, on the left are my folders. Once I drag a note into a folder, I would like it to no longer be seen in the center column….. that will guide me as to what I have filed into a folder…. if only it would 'dissapear' out of the center column… but no, it stays there, so I don't know whether it's been filed into a folder or not. There doesn't seem to be any way for me to mark a note in the center column as "filed". Does that make sense?


For example, my iPhotos, I go into the program (I do all of this on my MacBook Air), I don't like working on the small iPhone screen), every once in a while to put my photos into albums, or delete. Once I've put a photo into

an album, I have the choice to go back to the photo I've moved, & hide it, so now I know it's in an album, and I no longer see it in my Library of Photos.


Thanks for your reply. If you need further explanation, I can try to clarify more. Please see the screen shot, attached. Linda





Hi! Great answer, thanks. So I just went to move down 1 off 'iCloud' and just clicked 'notes' (see the screenshot). The middle column didn't go away (get hidden). So now I'm thinking maybe it a View setting I need to change to make this middle column disappear. Is there a view setting where I can hide this middle column ? Like, in iPhoto, once I've put a photo into an album, I click on it and have the ability to hide that photo (now I know it's been filed into an album). Not 'delete' of course, because I see that it will delete everywhere, and I don't want to do that. :) Thanks!